Nobel Prize for Photonics

Nobel Prize for Photonics

Photonics in 30 seconds

37 members of the Optical Society (OSA) have been awarded a Nobel Prize.

Thirty awards went to physicists. Four Nobel Prizes for Chemistry have been awarded to scien-tists with a dedicated focus on optical technologies, including Stefan Hell, Eric Betzig, and Wil-liam E. Moerner in 2014 for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy. Two other award winners received the Nobel Prize for Medicine.

The OSA lists 53 more Nobel laureates with a clear connection to optics and optical technolo-gies. These included names such as Röntgen, Lorentz, Bragg, Planck, Einstein, and Bohr.